Friday Reflections

Friday Reflections #2

Hi there,

I really liked what my reflection post did for me last week.  It helped me center and appreciate my week, which is exactly what I needed in that moment. In my life, I often find myself needing to “come back.”

 Coming back, for me, means finding a moment / space / time to sit with myself whether that’s in a room full of others’ chatter or in my quiet room, and reflecting on the last few days I have lived.  It is necessary for me to do this for my own well-being and mental health because it allows me to free up space in my mind and in my soul to continue living, breathing, and opening to new experiences up ahead.

My #1 indicator that I need to take a step back is when I start to feel like I want to stop time.  I want to push back.  I want to physically put up my hands and say, “Stop!”  But of course, we all know days don’t stop coming and the sun (thankfully) continues to set and rise and I want to be open to this because having this breath and these days are a blessing. So, to cope with my hectic daily life I live in this physical world, I reflect.

My highlight this week: I feel like I had more than 1 highlights this week!

1. We celebrated the first day of Spring on Monday.  I didn’t exactly do anything special aside from take a walk with Pepper late in the evening.  That was enough for me.

2. Pay day! Grateful for the opportunity to work and have my own money.  Finally!

3. My cousin and I followed through on our mid-week dinner plans in Long Beach, and I enjoyed every minute of our conversation.  She is a cousin that I feel very grateful for because we’ve been able to maintain a solid relationship as we have maneuvered our 20’s.  I don’t see her very often, but when I do, I always feel heard, supported and loved.

3. I attended an amazing training for work on Thursday on Trauma-Informed Practice.  I already do enjoy trainings and learning, but this training was AMAZING.  I love when I attend trainings that are given by passionate people.  I love when I can just feel their love for the work that they do, especially in this mental health field.  I think it is crucial for us newbie therapists to see older professionals that are NOT burnt out and still passionate about this work because let me tell you, this work can easily drain you.  So, this training was focused on trauma-informed care for children and families.  A lot of this information was provided for me throughout my traineeship in downtown los angeles – and that’s ANOTHER thing I feel grateful for.  I feel grateful for having trauma-informed supervisors as my first supervisee experience because I feel that it really set the bar high for the kind of work that I want to do with children and families.  In that talk with my cousin, I spoke about feeling like I needed to find my passion – my niche – and I think I am slowly finding it in trauma-informed care.

Wow! I have a lot to be grateful for this week!

Biggest challenge:  I have no idea if I am sick … or have allergies … or WHAT.  But I’ve had this pesky stuffy nose all week.  My ears feel extra sensitive and I continue to have an itchy nose and headaches.  WHY! I’m not trying to be a complainer, but when my job requires me to constantly talk to people, having these symptoms is not a pleasant thing to manage. Blah! Also, this week I finally stepped back and gave my eyes some space because I have been experiencing blurry vision and I was getting frustrated as I do NOT like wearing my glasses. I decided to have a little more patience and compassion for myself as my sight is something that I cannot take for granted. Once my medical benefits kick in, I am finding myself a new quality-care Optometrist!

Happy moment: My happy moment happens every day when I come home and greet my baby Pepper. I know this is sappy to the extreme, but hey, it is true.

Personal passion goal: Followed-up with Denim Day preparations for April: Sexual Assault Awareness Month! I have my advocate packet paid, downloaded, printed and saved!

**New Addition to this post:

#Adulting: I sat down with my father’s accountant (who is slowly also becoming mine) for a one on one lesson on budgeting and planning.  I am so grateful for having her guidance in this process as I am beginning to really handle my own finances.  She helped me plan out a monthly budget based on my new income and helped me plan for my future financial goals.  I’m going to be honest – it is SO scary to actually plan this out because it really puts this responsibility on ME, you know. I am so grateful for the opportunity to slowly figure things out … with patience… and guidance from someone other than my family.  It helps me see the possibilities and the hard work I need to put in to get to where I want to be.

 

Have a blessed, relaxed, and rejuvenating weekend.

Thank you for reading, xx

Leave a Reply

